Welcome to the Worcester County GenWeb Project

Worcester County was formed from the eastern portion of colonial Hampshire County, the western portion of the original Middlesex County and the extreme western portion of the original Suffolk County. When the government of Worcester County was established on April 2, 1731, Worcester was chosen as its shire town (later known as a county seat). From that date until the dissolution of the county government, it was the only county seat. Because of the size of the county, there were fifteen attempts over 140 years to split the county into two counties, but without success. Initially, Lancaster was proposed as the seat of the northern county; later, Petersham was proposed once and Fitchburg was proposed repeatedly, most recently in 1903. Perhaps as a concession, in August 1884 the Worcester County Registry of Deeds was split in two, with the Worcester Northern registry placed in Fitchburg.

Adjacent counties Worcester County Map

Cheshire County, New Hampshire
Hillsborough County, New Hampshire
Middlesex County, Massachusetts
Norfolk County, Massachusetts
Providence County, Rhode Island
Windham County, Connecticut
Tolland County, Connecticut
Hampden County, Massachusetts
Hampshire County, Massachusetts
Franklin County, Massachusetts







Special thanks to to Betty Thomas who created this county project in 1996 and maintained it until 2013.